B.D.E.I.G., Inc.

A Message from our Founder

Welcome to an elite group of specialized embroiderers.  To encourage each other, the Brazilian Dimensional Embroidery International Guild was founded in 1991 by a unanimous, joyful, affirmative vote.  It was a long-time dream come true for me.    

From a beginning of about 50 charter members, BDEIG Inc. now has over 400 members world-wide.  If you don't find a chapter near you, we encourage you to start one. 

The largest benefit of belonging to BDEIG is being able to attend the annual Seminar. The cost is reasonable.  It includes: over 50 class offerings (you choose up to two for each of five days); 6 nights lodging; 17 meals; and a very full, interesting "Goodie-bag".   

So thank you for being a part of 'usí.  We hope you will enjoy it, and eventually volunteer to become an Officer or Chairperson - with all its honor and responsibilities. 

Virginia Chapman
Founder, B.D.E.I.G. Inc.

Guild Banner

This beautiful banner was created for the guild by Mary Kurbis' group of B.E. stitchers in Vernon, B.C.  We will hang it proudly at all seminars, and it will be available for show at trade shows and other events to advertise the guild.  If you are going to an event and would like to have it for display, please contact our current president.   Let's see our banner displayed and enjoyed often. 

Judy Jensen Award

At our 1993 Seminar, Florence Worcester began a guild tradition.  She stitched a red rose and made it into a pin which was presented to a seminar participant who inspired us all with her enthusiasm and willingness to pitch in and help.  The rose was a reminder of Florence's good friend, Judy Jensen, who had been an inspiration to Florence to learn and enjoy Brazilian embroidery.  Judy was a charter member of BDEIG, but died during our first year.  Elaine Buttrick received the first Judy Jensen award.  She had come all the way from England for the seminar, and really did inspire us all with her enthusiasm.  Judy's daughter, K.K. Byrnes and Evelyn DeVries put the lovely pin together for the recipients each year.

Over the years the recipients have been chosen by the board for their contributions to the guild and attitude of " putting the good of the guild first".  They are:

1993 - Elaine Buttrick 
1994 - Charlotte Walker 
1995 - Carmel Buckland 
1996 - Rosalie Wakefield 
1997 - Florence Worcester
1998 - Peggy Daschbach-Martin 
1999 - Loretta Holzberger
2000 - Phyllis Friesen
2001 - Gayl Ratigan
2002 - Mary Kurbis
2003 - Virginia Chapman
2004 - Debbie Kelley
2005 - Charlyn Walker
2006 - Agnes Davis
2007 - Evelyn DeVries
2008 - Jean Wirig
2009 - Anita Douglas
2010 - Grita Gidner
2011 - Mary-E. Crichton
2012 - Debbie Goff

2013 - Jinx Shearer

2014- Ruby Scruggs

2015 - Polly Bingham


Judy Jensen recipients present at Seminar 2014

Home ] Show & Share Awards ] BE Chapters ] Scholarships and Fundraising ] Board & Guild Activities ] [ History ] Education ] Membership Application ] Seminar 2015 ] Free Designs ] B.E.Boutique ] Links ] Information and Forms ] Brazilian Embroidery Getting Started ] Stitch Instructions ] At A Glance ]
© 2015 BDEIG Inc.  All Rights Reserved